Evermotion Speed Modeling – my entry

I would like to show you a model and a couple of images I did yesterday for new speed modeling competition. I came across it yesterday and instantly thought about joining because of the theme – “Modern Lamp”. I’ve been thinking about modeling some design classic for a long time, but I couldn’t find zest for anything bigger than couple of welded tubes ;)

So, I thought I’ll give it a try. I opened metalarte catalogue, and browsed through their product range looking for something interesting and relatively easy to do at the same time. Magna lamp by Lievore Altherr Molina turned up to fit my needs.

I wanted to focus on details and model it precisely while fitting in a given time limitation (2 hours). It turned out to be easier then I thought. Next time I’ll pick something more complicated to model…

I finished it in around 1 hour. If you’re interested check out timelapse.

Anyway, I spent some time to set up a scene with my new model. Here are finished renderings. Done in Fryrender ONE.

Turned ON

Turned OFF

Render time: around 4,5 hours

Oh, I almost forgot. Since it’s all fun and the model is rather simple I decided to share it (version with minor chages) with you. I included a simple UV map in case you would like to map your translucent material :)

Have a nice rendering,

Cya

About this entry