BMW M3

Here’s my latest work. My friend was messing around with this low poly model for some time. I asked him to send me it so I could test my studio lighting skills. I added rims and tires modeled by me some time ago and started to work on light and shaders. That’s what came after few working hours.

Rendered in Fryrender RCFF. I used a custom gradient HDR emitter technique described by Tommaso Lanza at designunits.

90% of light comes from HDR texture mapped on a hemisphere emitter. This texture was created in Modo using gradients and then baked into HDR image. The great thing about this workflow is that you have a live render preview while setting up environment. After importing everything into Max I added fill light (also created using soft HDR texture) to light up front bumper and some emitters to simulate headlights.

Hemisphere layer:

Remaining layers:

Once again newest Fryrender proved to be much faster than beta version. Render time was 6,5 hour for clear 1800 pixels wide image. Neat.

If you’re interested in using this technique in Fryrender check out my vimeo profile. You’ll find there timelapse divided into 4 parts.

There’s one more thing I would like to share with you today. One render, four light layer variations.

Only 2 hours for 1000×600 resolution.

front_3_fin

Hope you like it🙂


About this entry