Speedies: Theme 5.1

Hi guys.

It’s been a while. Here’s a little post I promised last time. T5 is a much bigger project comparing to previous Speedies entries and to be honest it’s far from finished at this point. In fact it’s on hold as I fail to find free time for some 3d fun these days and other group members seem to have the exact same problem.

I think I’ll just make a short series of posts showing you what T5 is all about, what has been done already and what’s yet to be done as I think it’s a high time to refresh things a bit here :]

Let’s start with a little introduction. Some of you may have noticed that I’m a bit nuts about LEGO modeling and rendering. I’ve been thinking about this project for a longer time really. T5 is about recreating official 8480 set – “FOS Light” Space Shuttle in 3d. I’m sure most of you have heard about this set as it’s pretty much a classic example of how brilliant LEGO can be. You can find some details about this thing here.

As you can see, it’s a very complex model. It contains around 185 unique pieces (1366 bricks in total). The plan is to polymodel and map all of them in detail so the bricks can be detached and used in different sets (so I model every bottom, stud, hole etc even if it’s covered by other piece). Once it’s all done the whole thing needs to be assembled and rigged. The last stage would be to render it.

So, this is a very ambitious project for me and a great opportunity to explore rigging tools in modo.

Some of you may have stumble upon these renders on RandomControl site. They asked me to share the scene as they wanted to test some core optimizations and upcoming modo plugin.

Current parts list:

78 parts waiting to be modeled (including 2 without a proper reference)
76 finished parts (including 3 that are waiting for a review)
30 parts in progress

More info in next post🙂

Cheers


About this entry